Starting the year the sugar filled way

I’m destined to always start the New Year on the wrong foot.   Nearly 4 years ago Bump wasn’t playing ball, and didn’t appear til January 8th, so we are bound to a life of always needing copious amounts of cake when all around are dieting.

Picking fancy cake for a growing boy

picking a fancy cake for a growing boy

Plans are afoot.  Books are being flicked through.  The boy is having his first ever not-just-cousins (much as we love cousins!) party and some of his little mates from Montessori are coming.   He is involved in the choosing of friends and of cakes.  He has sophisticated tastes and landed upon a Strawberry & Marscapone number from the Like Mam Used to Bake cookbook.  I’ve decided that I want to enjoy that one in a languid fashion and not with 10 grabby little hands nearby.  So I’ve settled on a pirate ship cake, inspired by Bumbles of Rice and I’ve ordered some Jake & the Neverland Pirates partyware.  (Cunning plan to reuse some of it for someone else’s 2nd birthday…)
Besides that there’ll have to be something not too bad for them – I’m thinking popcorn, fruit salad and cheese straws. Kids are mad for breadsticks so these cheesey ones won’t go astray. I also have a bean dip recipe that if ignored by children should keep me and husband’s energy levels up.

Then of course, there’s his actual birthday which is midweek and cannot go unmarked in ‘school’.  His teachers are wise to my baking, and will be expecting something to appear I’m sure. I’m going with tried and tested Rice Krispie Marsbies which appeared in tray bake form last year as his actual cake.

I’ve made the list, and have disgusted myself by the requirement for a kilo of butter for all these endeavours. Healthy eating starts the day after the party!

The reason I tell you this is for a twofold motivational reason:  If I tell the internet I’m doing something, then I’d better follow through.  So here you have it: I’m recreating Bucky in chocolate cake, and if I eat a mountain of baked goods I’ll be fine because I’ve also signed up to do a half marathon in a couple of months.

Wish me luck & check in again to see the results!

6 responses to “Starting the year the sugar filled way

  1. Sounds good to me. I’m interested to hear how the party goes since we’ll have to do the first one with “outside” friends too this year – the pressure!

    Like

    • I know Niamh – me nerves! Nothing like being judged by a bunch of 3-4 year old, they’re very critical and don’t hold back. Boring! Disgusting!

      Like

  2. Oh lordy! I’ve got one next week and another in Feb. I used to have them at home but I’m chickening out this year and a good old family play centre with manky chips and nuggets will do.

    Like

    • My mum had (well, has, but she doesn’t have parties for us anymore) 3 in a week. How did she do it!? No play centres in those days of yore I’m telling you that.

      Totally going the play centre route next year. Going to set a reminder in my phone now for next November to book it!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Glut of eggs. Gleggs. Egglut. | proper fud

  4. Pingback: In which a cake nearly breaks my heart but turns out well in the end. | proper fud

Leave a Reply

