Glut of eggs. Gleggs. Egglut.

Back on form

Back on form

How did I end up with 14 eggs 2 days ago?  By doing the most unplanned and frequent supermarket pop-ins you can imagine over Christmas, that’s how.  Dominic was at the point of eating 1 egg, scrambled in the microwave each day for lunch.  No toast, no bagel, no cheese, just an egg.  All the better for leaving space to spend the rest of the day begging for a go of his selection box or a half a candy cane.

I felt a bit bad after my pre-birthday post.  I love sugar, or at least I’m truly addicted but we’re not that bad.  So now, with 14 eggs left to use by thursday – I had to come up with something that was good for us all.  I used 9 in one day.  9!  3 of which I have the whites left over from, so eh, omelette tomorrow?  Though I’ve never made meringue, maybe now is the time to start.  Mmmmmmore sugar.

First of all, I went back to the Like Mam Used To Bake book.  I’ve browsed that book lots since I got it, salivating as I go.  I’ve only made the Mint Crisp Pie before now, but I have a sorta of Julie & Julia style idea that I’m going to make everything in it.  I also picked up some delicious coffee in the fiver bag offer from 3FE the other day (to ease the pain of returning to work) so having sampled its deliciousness early this morning over Duplo and Aqua Doodles I decided I’d make a coffee cake with it too, swapping out coffee essence for espresso.  Because it’s still Christmas thanksverymuch.    I digress!  Back to the nutritious stuff…

The other 5 eggs went into an Avoca Cafe cookbook recipe: Spinach, Pecan & Blue Cheese mini filo pies.  I’m truly back on recipe-adapting form.

I used roquefort, not cashel blue.  In fact, I put blue in half of them, and cheddar and feta in the other half for the kids.  I had no filo, so I used puff pastry.  I had no pecans, so I used toasted chopped walnuts.  There was optional cranberries in the recipe, which I in no way wanted but as you can see, everything is fairly optional in my book.  So, technically here are my adapted pies:

Eggy Pie

Spinach, Walnut & Assorted Cheese mini puff pastry pies.

1 sheet of defrosted Puff pastry
500g frozen spinach, defrosted & water squeezed out.
4 tablespoons chopped walnuts, toasted lightly
80g blue cheese / 80g feta & cheddar combined
2 eggs + 3 egg yolks
4 tablespoons creme fraiche
freshly grated nutmeg

Preheat the oven to 180c.

Cut the pastry sheet in 6 and push each square into a muffin tray.  I have a silicon one. This looks rough enough, with arty sticking out bits.  Honestly you could stretch this to 8 – they came out quite big and they’re a strong flavour.

Mix together the spinach, nuts and cheese.  I did this in 2 bowls – half the spinach and nuts in each one, with the blue cheese added to one, and the feta & cheddar to the other.  Season with pepper and salt (I left out salt for the kids and because the cheese is salty enough)

Spoon the mixture into the pastry shells.

Whisk together the eggs, egg yolks, creme fraiche and nutmeg. pour over the other ingredients.

Bake in a 180C oven for 20-25 minutes – until the egg is set.

I served this with a bean salad – 1 tin each of chickpeas, kidney beans and sweet corn.  Dress with olive oil, lemon juice and 2 crushed garlic cloves.

Now I dare you to tell me I’m missing a food group out of there!

- Jill

8 responses to “Glut of eggs. Gleggs. Egglut.

  1. Sounds absolutely delish! I’m going through rolls of puff pastry at the minute, so handy for anything, especially last minute delicacies when someone is about to arrive!!

    • They really are yum & totally adaptable. I had to buy more today for the cheese straws for next weekends party. Let’s hope it lasts that long!

  2. Sounds delicious, love the salad you made too, definitely going to try that one. I’ve been trying to stock the freezer with helpful fall backs and have just realised that puff pastry would be a good one too. My hubby thinks I am preparing for some snow in or something… he found 10 tins of tomatoes and 5 jars of coffee in the cupboard recently ;0)

    • I’m really not good at batch cooking (and I’ve a tiny freezer). But a bean salad takes about 60 seconds to make, so well stocked cupboards will do the job for quick fallbacks too. Tomatoes & coffee though…I’m not sure what I could whip up with that ;)

  3. I’ve had the blue cheese version of these at a dinner party and liked the concept but not the blue cheese so I much prefer your version Jill. Must see if my fellas will eat them. And I’ve puff pastry in the freezer that I was meant to use at Christmas.

    • a dinner party! my baby is fierce sophisticated so :)

      I love blue cheese, but I had the sense to realise they wouldn’t at least!

Leave a Reply

