official Dominic sanctioned BLW accoutrements

There’s very little you need to do BLW.  A baby with hands and some food pretty much covers it.  But, if like me you like to buy nice things, then here are some of the handy things I’ve got for Dom for his foodie journey.

Since some point in the middle of my pregnancy I have funneled any and all spare money towards baby things, and mostly spend my days in jeans, tshirts & converse.  I’m hoping at some point very shortly after my return to work (6 weeks eeek!) I might cop on and buy myself a winter coat, or I’ll be shuffling round in my 2 sizes too big duffel coat I wore for the last couple of months of pregnancy.  In the meantime, here’s some of the official Dominic-sanctioned good-for-BLW kit we’ve been spending our money on.

This was the big ticket item, our Stokke Tripp Trapp highchair.  I bought this from littledreamers.ie for the best price I could find anywhere.  I got it in walnut, with the Green Tales cushion & harness.  And believe me, I research everything to the nth degree, so this was absolutely the best deal I could find inc shipping all over Ireland & UK.  There’s no need to bang on about it’s brilliance, but quickly the things we love are – pulls up to table for family fud, small footprint for our small house,  supports baby brilliantly, looks gorgeous, lasts for years (having seen it in action in my sisters houses).  Its admittedly horribly pricey in high chair terms though it was the one thing that I really wanted to spend the money on.

We also have two Ikea Antilops for the grandparents – it also supports baby really well, which is the one thing that most cheap highchairs lack. There’s nothing more annoying that rolling up towels ineffectively around babs and watching them clearly uncomfortable trying to eat.

Sometimes when it comes to baby led weaning, you’d wonder why you bother with bibs at all it can get so messy.  But you can’t actually change outfits on baby 3 times a day, so its bib on, sleeves rolled up, and if he gets squished berries on the soles of his feet, well, no bib is going to prevent that.

I got these Bibetta bibs on amazon.co.uk.  I bought two, and kinda wish I’d got 5 or 6.  They’re neoprene, so he doesn’t get soaked with enthusiastic doidy cup action (that comes later).  They were also the bib of choice on the day he had the big throw up last week, and there was not a drop spilled.  Euuuwww. I know. They’ve washed really really well, the velcro is holding up perfectly, and they dry quickly.

I also have Ikea bibs, which are cheap & cheerful.  They’re quite big, but they’re soft so they don’t get in the way of little hands and small spoons.  This is a problem with the Tommee Tippee roll n go bibs.  They’re too stiff and so they move about too much.  Even on the smallest neck setting it can ride up onto his chin and the crumb catcher bit gets caught over his arm.  They might be better size wise in a few months.  Also, they’ve stained a bit from tomatoey foods, not a fan of that, but probably nothing a bit of Milton wouldn’t sort out.

I love this thing – its the Skip Hop Mate stay-put Plate! The bottom is rubberised, the plate part clips in and out.  My sister in law picked in up in America for us but I think you can get it on amazon also. I don’t use this all the time, because he just doesn’t eat too much yet but it’s great.  He hasn’t worked out how to throw it.  Which is essential.

Unlike the Ikea bowls.  They’re rubberised too, but they’re small and light so although he can’t push it around, he can just pick it up in half a second if he decides.  I dunno what it says about our cooking that he prefers to chew on a melamine bowl.  However I use these, day in, day out.  They seem to be gone now from the Ikea site, but you can see them in lots of the pictures on here (white & red).

The matching spoons are really great – I can’t believe how I can pick out what’s a good spoon and a bad spoon for self-feeding.  If you’d asked me a year ago, I’d be like a spoon is a spoon is a spoon.  The one that comes with the Mate Plate are a bit deep and round yet.  The Ikea ones are long and shallow – they just fit better for an eater with L-plates.

Every meal needs an accompanying beverage.  And between bottles and boobs and sippy cups, the boy has a lotta ways to drink.  We also made the decision to start him on an open cup early.  The Doidy cup is fierce clever – the slant means you can see the contents, and it doesn’t need to be tilted too far back to drink from it.  Parental supervision is most definitely needed, we hold it, and Dom has a little go of holding one side too.  Sometimes he just hits it instead, and then we all get wet.  I got ours on amazon, but they’re widely available on Irish websites too.  Gotta love that super saver delivery, I tend to keep adding to basket…

I got this Avent kit for freezer storage and the spoons that come with it are similarly good.  We don’t really need that kind of thing as much as spoon-feeders would, as we don’t make up very many batches of food to freeze. There might only ever be 4 or 5 in the freezer at any one time.  But I’ve been using them for small bits of leftovers for us anyway.

And finally, to protect our kitchen table from several soakings/spraying & wiping sessions every day, I bought an oilcloth tablecloth from Cath Kidston.  You can buy by the metre or they have finished ones also in a smaller selection of fabrics. In Kildare Village they have last season fabrics for €29 (finished) as opposed to €44 in the Dundrum store.  Bargain.

Along with my trusty insulated M&S lunch bag & numerous zip lock bags we’re good to go.  I think that’s everything!  Have I left anything out or given waaaay too much info?  Don’t answer that…

7 thoughts on “official Dominic sanctioned BLW accoutrements

  1. Great post 🙂

    I also enjoy an hour or 12 researching baby stuff.
    We have some of the same stuff too.

    I took off the Tripp Trapp cushion after a few days, couldnt be bothered with washing it all the time 🙂
    I didnt like the harness it came with either so we use a Clippasafe one from Smyths which comes off easily for cleaning.

    We have the Bibetta bibs too, they are great, but Jamie can take them off now, and does every time, so I am looking for a bib that will stay on.

    One thing I bought and never used was this Tiny Diner mat, I thought it would be good for when we are out but we never bothered with it :

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Summer-Infant-10313-Tiny-Diner/dp/B0006BAJK4

    At the moment our Doidy cup functions as a hand washing device but hopefully if we keep at it he will get the idea soon 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks. I love to research & see what other people have so I thought it might be handy. I was surprised how easy the cushion wipes clean though, the milton spray or method multipurpose cleaner seem to work quite well. some tomatoey stuff is tough. we’ve only washed in once in 2 months 😳 Dom actually likes his harness. He likes to play with the clasp. We’ve no real need for it yet but I want him to be used to it. He’s already doing archy rigid back when we put him in the car seat so when he wants to be willful he really can be.

      Buttoned bibs must be the way to go. Let me know if you find any! I tried the tommee tippee one again this morning and it really just impedes him, and he starts to chew it and forget about the grub.

      That tiny diner thing looks handy but its not going to stop them chucking food left & right is it!?

      Like

  2. Hey!

    Great blog!! I’m very impressed! I love all the tips on what to buy as I’ve yet to invest in a high chair and lots more for Ronan…so lots of ideas for me to start shopping…..this could be dangerous;-))

    Bernie

    Like

    1. yeah but now you won’t buy crap cos i’ve recommended such fabulous things 😉

      seriously though, buy the ikea chair at first, then you can decide if you want / need fancier, and if you do, give the ikea chair to a granny. My mum had a highchair in her house but i found it a pain and I love this one. I even brought it to Mayo with us on our holidays!

      Like

Leave a Reply

