She’s not the enemy…

…in fact she’s very handy.

That Annabel Karmel, she’s very useful you know.  I could have gone down her route for the easy life when approaching solids – for buddha’s sake she’s got weekly meal planners.  The organising is done for you. What’s not to love?  But I like stressing myself out staring in the fridge at the tumbleweed behind the halloumi & yogurt & almond butter and deciding what to give Dominic for dinner so I chose baby led weaning!

But in all seriousness, having been given not one but two copies of the Complete Baby & Toddler Meal Planner book by one mum I trust muchly (my sister) and  by a friend whose friend has recommended it as a new mum gift, I knew there was something to it.  So we refer to it relatively often – I had some purees dutifully frozen near the start for get-some-food-into-him style days, which I ended up offering on pitta.   More recently I’ve found it comes into it own once you read the recipes that just end in ‘and now puree it’ and then, just don’t puree it.  We’ve been using the 9-12 month recipes recently, ooo, controversial.  For the most part her food is parent friendly too (but not diet friendly, she loves butter & cheese – no matter in this house, we don’t do dieting).  This is important to the baby led weaner.  Monkey see, monkey do.  Like with the apple.

So, in the past week, I’ve made Cottage Pie and Popeye Pasta.  The former was okay, the latter a big hit.  The cottage pie was our fault really.  Mark did a dash into the supermarket on the way home and in lieu of Linda McCartney mince (preferred over quorn mince in this house) had to get Quorn Beef Style Pieces.  Bleurgh.  Like dog food with the jelly gone.   Well, I can only vouch for that in a visual sense.  Anyway, the flavour of the food and the cheesy mash on top was good, so I’ll definitely try it again with the proper veggie mince in.  If such a thing can ever be deemed proper.

The next one up was Popeye Pasta, specifically given the thumbs up by Dominic’s two elder cousins, Ella & Ríodhna, both connoisseurs of all things pasta.

He cannot get it into his mouth fast enough.  Because I can’t leave things well enough alone, we had some sauteed courgette also. Some was eaten, some was frisbee material.  I doubled the recipe amount in order to feed us 3 & have leftovers for Dom the next day.

At the weekend his intrepid father brought him for a night out at Oma & Opa’s. After meat experiment number one, he hasn’t actually had any more since, so Mark decided to make him a salmon with chive sauce number.  I’m told it went well, though I have no photo evidence.  The leftovers didn’t go down well the next day anyway, with anyone.  Dom removed it all from the bowl but wouldn’t eat it.  I think he was just tired.  Anyway, in it went to the cats bowls who regarded it with suspicious til we got rid of it 3 hours later.  I wasn’t having fish sitting out in our kitchen. I think they’re too used to a veggie house and do not know the marvellous world of scraps.  That’s got to be a major cat owner flaw.

-jill

One thought on “She’s not the enemy…

Leave a Reply

