Beans beans they’re good for your heart…

I don’t like baked beans.  Well, I don’t like baked beans in a can. but I do like beans and I do like tomatoey stuff, so something doesn’t add up. The texture? The beans are squidgy and kinda crumbly.  A few weeks ago, a friend of mine tweeted that he was making homemade baked beans.  And so inspired I went off in search of a recipe.  Damn there is a lot of lard & bacon laden baked beans recipes out there. They mostly seem to be from the American southern states.  Why can’t you just keep an inherently healthy meal healthy dudes?  So I came across this Tana Ramsay recipe.

The only adaptations were pinto not haricot beans, because they were what I had, and no Worcestershire sauce cos it ain’t vegetarian.  I don’t even know what that tastes like.  Anyone know what a veg-friendly substitute might be?

full o' beans

These were such a handy thing to have in the fridge, I had them for lunch in work, for a saturday brunch on a bagel, and Dom loved them.  He ate them off toast, he ate some from a fork and he enjoyed picking them out of the bowl and making a beany-tomatoey mess.

Disclaimer: I don’t know how much sooner I would have given them to him than I did  (about 11 months).  They’re certainly firmer than tinned baked beans, and they could present a choking hazard so you might want to wait til over a year, or make a call yourself on how able baby is for them.  And obvs, supervise him.

Jill

Leave a Reply

