Baby Led Weaning cookbook – Sugar Free Banana Bread

I’ve made banana bread before, sure I know what I’m dealing with.  This right here is my favourite recipe for it evhs. Good ol’ Delia – I’ve made it many times, and I can’t say that about too many recipes.  In fact I’m not sure I’ve ever met a banana bread I didn’t like. Until now.

please sir, can I have some sugar?

There was something missing, and patently, that something was sugar.  The mixture was very low in the tin, no matter thought I, it’ll rise.  It didn’t really, and one of the major disadvantages of the BLW cookbook is that there’s no pictures.  So I don’t know if it was supposed to be flat-cake or not.  Y’know, cake like a traybake type thing.  I suppose these kind of snacky things aren’t really aimed at me.

The positive outcome of this is that Dom genuinely liked it.  The child evidently doesn’t know what he’s missing in the sugary stakes.  I will make it again, as I’m having some guilt issues over our what looks like a sponsorship deal with Organix/Goodies when you open our kitchen press.  Freezing about half in slices is probably a good idea – it didn’t keep too well, and it didn’t go down well with adults.

jill

6 thoughts on “Baby Led Weaning cookbook – Sugar Free Banana Bread

  1. Oh I tried this one too and came to the same conclusion. The sugarfree bread is definitely lacking sugar! We all disliked it in my house though. My little man definitely has a sweet tooth. 🙂

    Like

  2. I made the sugar free banana muffins from the book and was as uninspired by them, sadly. They rose up and looked all muffin-y in the oven, but sank when I took them out so the top looked all weird and wrinkly. “Like brains”, said the husband, helpfully. They were a fairly boring flavour and the texture was a bit chewy too, but Zoë didn’t complain.

    Still, I’ll stick to the banana pancakes next time I have ripe bananas to use for her and make the nice sugary banana bread with chocolate chips for the grownups 🙂

    Like

  3. ah husbands. so very helpful with their witty comments.

    sure not everything’s gonna work I suppose. making it as muffins next time is a good idea actually, for easy-freezin’

    now, more importantly, choc chip banana bread…have you a recipe?

    Like

  4. I got this recipe from someone on a message board, so I can’t take credit, but it’s delicious!

    125g softened butter
    150g light brown sugar
    2 large eggs
    3 or 4 ripe bananas, mashed
    250g self raising flour
    pinch salt
    1/2 tsp mixed spice
    100g dark chocolate chips

    Mix the ingredients in the usual way and bake in a loaf tin at 180C for about 50 minutes (check the middle as it can look done before it is cooked through).

    Like

Leave a Reply

