the holy grail: saag paneer at home (baby led weaning cookbook)

I LOVE Indian food.   Restaurant, takeaway (especially Bombay Pantry‘s Kofta Curry), curries at home.  It’s so good for veggies.  We’ve discovered through trial & error that Dom isn’t mad about hot (as in chilli hot) food.  Now I’m really cautious because I don’t want him to outright reject food i’ve just made so it’ll probably perpetuate the dislike.  But with Indian food we can keep introducing flavour with things like cumin & garam masala and coriander etc so it’s not like it’s bland food he’s getting.  Just not hot.

We’re well accustomed to making curries – veg, lentil, chickpea, bean etc – the odd biryani, and I like to make dhals.  But I’ve never cooked with paneer before though it’s one of my favourite things to order as a takeaway.  I spotted some in a Tesco I don’t usually shop in a few weeks ago and bought it with this in mind.  I haven’t seen it in any other supermarket since, but I believe making paneer is very simple – Jamie Oliver has a recipe in one of his first books from way back when.  Some sunny day perhaps…

Dom’s a big spinach fan, the little popeye head on him.  I’m thrilled about this frankly.  And now, unless the spinach is used in a salady way, I’ve been using frozen spinach.  It’s ridiculously quick to cook (defrost & heat really I suppose) so I used it in this recipe too.  When we’re just in from work and trying to feed the 3 of us asap, speed is often a priority while trying not to compromise on home-cookedness.

Because of the aforementioned heat-aversion I cooked a quarter of the chilli with the onion for a few minutes, then removed it before I added the spinach.  I don’t know if I’m fooling myself but hopefully that kind of thing will introduce a bit of  heat gently to his baby palate.

I yam what I yam and that's all I yam!

I know this photo doesn’t exactly scream enthusiasm for the dish, but honestly he ate all of it.  Every bit.  I think he was just taking a moment!

Next up, I’ll have to find a veggie kofta dumpling recipe.

– Jill

6 thoughts on “the holy grail: saag paneer at home (baby led weaning cookbook)

  1. Hey there – always enjoy reading your posts. Is Dom using a spoon and fork feeding himself?? Keep trying this with Rían but it’s like playtime!!

    Like

    1. oh i have to preload the cutlery for him still. but he’ll eat that okay

      sometimes i hold the bowl and give him spoon/fork and a couple of times he’s accidently got food on and eaten it. which we’ve applauded loudly of course. but yeah, mostly its bashing & drumming and food flinging!

      Like

  2. Just found your blog from babyledweaning.com – that looks delish! I am the worlds worst cook but I have managed to make paneer! It was totally easy, basically just milk and lime juice. So definitely try it for next time, plus it’s pretty cool to tell people you make your own cheese! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

