Mixing it up with Eggy Bread

Owing to a lovely gang of visitors yesterday, we’ve much food leftovers to get through. So we started with breakfast.  I’d bought lots of lovely bread in Lidl to go with all our salady bits, and so before I froze it the remainder for toast, I kept back a few slices for eggy bread.  It’s actually kinda brownish so I think it might be sourdough even though it said Country White on the basket label.

The recipe I was working off was for french toast but used great big slabs of bread, and a tablespoon of sugar.  I guess you could call what I made french toast but I think that might be giving it notions above its station – this, was eggy bread.  I had 4 not particularly thick slices set aside. In fact they were cut in the slice-a-nator machine in store, which has no less than 3 thickness settings so I happen to know these were 14mm slices!  Shame on you if you cannot recreate this perfection at home with your breadknife.

Mix 2 eggs, 100mls of milk, and 1 scant tsp of caster sugar.  Soak bread on both sides.  Fry up in a little butter on a non-stick pan.

Serve baby’s with natural yogurt, banana & finely chopped walnuts. Serve own the same, subbing maple syrup for yogurt.  Sneaky.

Sit back and gape in wonder at how much bread one small boy can fit in his mouth.

One thought on “Mixing it up with Eggy Bread

Leave a Reply

