It’s not easy being green

A few weeks ago we got a gift of Yotam Ottolenghi’s Plenty.  Pickings are comparitively scarce for good veggie ccokbooks – I was left disappointed recently by a glance through Simon Hopkinson’s The Vegetarian Option which I bought on the back of his Good Cook TV series (though I must stress I actually haven’t tried making any of the recipes yet).  This one came tried, tested and recommended.  A cursory flick made me really look forward to trying some stuff out, and we’ve made 3 recipes so far – Chickpea Sauté with Greek Yogurt, Puy Lentil Galettes & Green Couscous.

Loves a good grain

This is the Green Couscous – I often cook with couscous, but it’s one of those ‘in from work, in a hurry, what’s in the veg drawer’ no brainer dinners, so it was really nice to actually use it in a proper recipe.  And hey, if it’s good enough for Martha Stewart….

The child loves his grains, I’ll give him that.  I would say that for everything new we try, or everything we try try and try again, we alternate with something we know he’ll eat.  They tell us he’s a savage in creche, so I think that might have a good deal to do with why he doesn’t always eat that much with us in the evening.  Since he moved from a high chair to a little group table & chairs setup in there, he also has ample opportunities to eat other toddlers’ leftovers – and he takes them by all accounts.

So I can see that Dom’s couscous doesn’t look that green.  I can assure the reader that the end product looked like the book/pic on the Martha Stewart site.  I just added the rocket and some feta after I’d served up his. I’m going to hedge my bets and say he’s not going to go for either of those yet.  The pistachios, spring onions & herb paste provided enough flavour for him I reckon.

After our fits and starts and intermittent cooking successes recently we’re trying to do a plan of sorts for the week before we shop – about 4 dinners planned and the rest is leftovers/freezer food/top of the head stuff.   I’m the queen of googling ingredients for meal ideas, loving the end result. and then never being able to find that recipe again.  So I’ve high hopes for this padded white (well, it’s already stained but any good cookbook should be) tome to be our go-to guide each week.

Are any readers a fan of Yotam Ottolenghi, veggie or otherwise?

Jill

2 thoughts on “It’s not easy being green

Leave a Reply

