Brrr. Tis the season…

…For soup!

I left the supermarket most indignant a couple of weeks ago.  Pumpkin filled every spot where the butternut squash should be.  Stupid bandwagon jumping  supermarket.  People barely even eat them here, they just carve them! I wanted my squash, as a foodstuff like.  Tsk.  (I will carve a pumpkin next year though, I promise).

A week later though, I found them for 65c each, and got 2.  Mark made a spicy curry which we didn’t give to Dom as it turned out quite salty, and I made a Honey Roast Butternut squash soup with Ginger Creme Fraiche – based on this recipe, but true to form, did it a bit differently.

I like to make soup at the same time as another dinner, or after Dom is gone to bed.  Then we have it for lunch or next days dinner and I find it really helps break the rushing in from work/making dinner cycle and allows me time to sit and play and see if I can find out anything about Dominic’s day.  Though recently he told me he played with a boy who isn’t even in his room anymore in creche, so I’m not sure I can trust his word.   He also confidently counted 9 (1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 9) butterflies on a tshirt where there were clearly 3 .  Sure he’s fooling no one.

I roasted the squash in small cubes rather than wedges to get even more honey balsamicy coverage.  I also realised too late that husband had used the carrots I thought we had in another dinner, so I chucked in 2 chopped up red peppers into the pot.  Honestly if I’d noticed the lack of carrot (and celery) earlier, I’d have had the peppers in the oven too, to sweeten them up, but they still worked.  The pièce de résistance of this dish was the ginger creme fraiche though – what a lovely addition.  I love ginger but it’s flavour can get a little lost in a hearty soup.  This came in little cool hits against the sweetness of the squash.

This was a thinner soup than I usually make.  I got used to making them thick a lot because Dom was less likely to slop it everywhere.  I’ve never seen him eat soup like he did this.  Head down, scoop, slurp, scoop, slurp, scoop, slurp – barely a drop spilled.   This served 6 – one dinner & one lunch each.  For me, it was a welcome break in the lunch monotony.  Budget decrees that I bring my lunch to work at least 4 out of 5 days – boy do I get sick of cheese and salad bagels and pittas.  Just make sure you’ve got some good airtight storage for transportation!

Jill

3 thoughts on “Brrr. Tis the season…

Leave a Reply

