The Toddler and the Chickpea.

Things rejected this week alone:  a veggie lasagne made with quorn mince & layers of spinach (yum); scrambled egg (a staple); enchiladas (in fairness I wasn’t gone on them myself and I think the problem was the Old El Paso enchilada kit creamy sauce…shoulda known better – bleugh).

Back to the drawing board so…A few week ago we had Mark’s parents over, so we had a vegetarian, a coeliac & a diabetic. Out of 4 of us!   Though the latter isn’t exactly an issue with mains anyway.  Mark grumbled a little over what to make (mostly about me who chose my diet  – though I would argue it wasn’t a choice for me, just to stir things like) and then proceeded to make a delicious starter of Aubergine with Buttermilk Sauce from Plenty.  (NOTE: he left off  the za’atar and added some suitable dried herbs instead as it contains wheat) I want it now in fact, with at least 2 full aubergines to myself.   There wasn’t enough for Dominic so we brought him to the table in time for the main event – Channa Masala.  Well, he LOVED it.

So, after several rejections this week, I decided I was making it again in a double batch.  This is the recipe.  I’ve made other channa masalas before – more complicated, bland, more time consuming – this the best by far.  Quick and easy and really mostly store cupboard stuff.  Actually, coriander is the only thing I have to buy as I cannot for the life of me keep it alive. Tips?  And, miraculously for me, I don’t even make a single adjustment to this recipe.

Just one more growth spurt and I’ll reach it.

I swear he smelled it cooking.  I made it early as we’re having a lazy sunday afternoon, so I thought it would be done and I could just chill with the newspaper for a bit, but no.  As soon as I put the brown rice on – ie. at least 30 mins to go til dinner time himself ran out to the kitchen yelling ‘bitta lunch’ and climbed up on his seat.  He was distracted by diggers for another while, but as the moment I left his dish out to cool a little on the counter he was off like a shot.  Good thing I always have natural yogurt to hand for speedy dinner cooling.

He’s had 2 portions and there’s plenty for tomorrow.  Tina assures me it freezes well too though.  Now.  Time for me to go have some!

Jill

7 thoughts on “The Toddler and the Chickpea.

  1. Natural yoghurt to cool things. Of course. Why do I never think of that. I also have a very impatient toddler who yells “MY NUM NUM NUM” when hungry 🙂

    And chana masala… mmm. Could I possibly have all the ingredients for this, including a pack of cut coriander…? Oh dear, no ginger.

    Like

    1. Buy fresh ginger, peel, chop into various size chunks & freeze in a ziplock bag. A decent chunk will defrost enough in a bit of boiling water for a couple of minute so that you can chop/grate. Hey presto, always fresh ginger available!

      Like

      1. Wow, you have all the answers. I must do this, since I’m forever throwing away dried up bits of leftover ginger when I find them in the the fridge weeks later – thanks!

        Like

    1. Oh I know. Every second day when I dress him I end up pulling off what ever i’ve just put on and putting it in the ‘attic’ pile. having said that it’s mostly 12-18month stuff he’s growing out of. We’ve very little 18-24 and it feels weird buying it for him now when he’s 22.5months!

      Like

  2. Forgot to say, have made Tina’s recipe too…simple and deeeelicious! Although my picky eater only ate the rice/cous cous/naan bread (have made it a few times). Amazing the day after!

    Like

Leave a Reply

