i am two!

Ta-da!

I am 2 now and my mammy said I could have some treats on my birthday. Last year I had lovely things that were treats too, but they didn’t have as many colours.

We had popcorn which my cousin Ella likes best better than crisps, and jelly snakes in a bowl. When I had my first jelly snake before my birthday I played with it for aaaaages and did “ssssss” n all. Then I taste it and it was yum so now I know to not do “sssss”ing and just eat them.

In contemplation of cake

I love Handy Manny and Yo Gabba Gabba and especially singing songs with mammy and daddy. I like the song about Incy Wincy spider and Electric Cars  and not going to work  and living on the moon but nearly most of all I love Elmo songs and I listen to them in the car or look at them on mammy or daddy’s phone.

Mammy made me Elmocake for my birthday they were yum and red like elmo and I could eat his eyes and his nose and his mouth and his red fur and it made my face red and it made me run around for ages with my cousins.

There were cookies too that my Oma and Opa who can’t eat many treats can eat but they still tasted yum.

She made cake that was chocolate and biscuity too and it was so nice that she’s going to make it for my Uncle Jamie’s birthday and he’s not 2 because he’s tall like daddy. He is having his birthday party on saturday when I don’t go to creche so I hope there are treats there for me too.

Dom

Now, the all important Elmo cupcake instructions. You can basically make any bun/fairycake/cupcake recipe & buttercream and then it’s all about the decorating. Which, though reasonably easy, is fairly labour intensive, so I recommend roping in a long-standing bestie (take a bow ‘auntie’ Paula) for the assembly line work.

I used Annabel Karmel’s cupcake & icing recipe, making the icing nice & lemony. I doubled the recipe, because what use is 12 cakes to anyone, and I probably used the juice of half a lemon at least in the icing, but make it to taste. I dyed both the cake mixture (totally optional) and the icing (totally necessary)

ELMO CUPCAKES

Ingredients

  • 110g butter at room temperature
  • 110g caster sugar
  • 110g plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • Quarter tsp salt
  • 2 eggs (medium)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Method

Preheat the oven to 180C/ 350F / Gas 4. Line a muffin tin with paper cases.

Put the butter and sugar in a bowl; and beat until pale and fluffy.

Sift the flour, baking powder and salt into the bowl.

Beat the eggs and vanilla and add to the bowl. Beat until just combined.

Spoon the mixture into the paper cases. (I found red cases too, yay!)

Bake for 18 to 20 minutes until risen, golden and firm to the touch.

Cool in the tin for 10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

For plain buttercream, beat 110g (4 oz) butter until soft, then beat in 110g (4oz) icing sugar, a tablespoon at a time.

For lemon buttercream, beat in 1 tbsp lemon juice – add 1 tsp at a time and taste after each addition.

Now the fun part, what you need to…

Elmo them up:

  • Dessicated coconut
  • Red food colouring. Incidentally, this comes with a bit of a warning about how it might affect kids behaviour, which make me goggley eyed for a minute, and then I lashed it in. I must check green & blue in the supermarket to see if making Oscar the Grouch or Cookie Monster would be any less hyperness inducing.
  • White chocolate buttons
  • Chocolate chips. I used Dr. Oetker brand that I got in superquinn.
  • Orange smarties. Be warned. I bought a 5 pack of smarties and this yielded just 15 orange ones. The adults had the yellow nosed Elmos.  I had considered peanut m&m’s as a more authentic shape then found no orange ones in 2 packets so gave up on that! But on the bright side, there were a lot of left over sweeties for me.
  • Oreo cookies.

Mix the coconut and a few drops of food colouring in a bowl til you reach the desired colour.

Spread the coconut on a flat dinner plate and dip the iced buns upside down in the coconut. Hey presto! Elmo’s fur.

Stick the choc chips to the white buttons. I used a Dr. Oetker pouch of chocolate icing as a sort of glue, but if you heated the chips at all, they could stick to the buttons. (Good luck with that though)

Stick on the smartie nose.  Eat some miscellaneous coloured smarties as a reward for hard work.

Now, the tough bit, if you could get such a thing as mini Terrys Chocolate Orange pieces or some such shape like that, they’d make a great Elmo’s mouth.  I split oreos with a serrated knife and carefully cut a small segment off each side.  This was hard.  Loads broke, but I stuck them back together on the cupcake.  So, I might not be able to sell these, but they were fine.  I’d love to hear what others found good for this bit.

Eat!

CHOCOLATE BISCUIT CAKE
This recipe is from my friend & workmate Jess’s mum, so has been well tested over the years.  She says herself that “This has been known to please all from 4 years to 84 – don’t eat too much!!!”   I added a small tub of chopped up glacé cherries (which I wouldn’t consider eating in anything else frankly) and think that chopped up nuts would go really well in it too.  You can happily make it a couple of days before hand too. However I wouldn’t guarantee it not getting eaten in that case.
Ingredients
  • 1 lb. biscuits  [I like plain digestive]
  • 10 ozs. butter
  • 10 ozs. caster sugar
  • 4 ozs drinking chocolate
  • 2 beaten eggs.

Method

Melt butter and sugar gently, so that the sugar almost dissolves.

Beat eggs and drinking chocolate together – carefully as it tends to fly around.  Combine these two in saucepan – which you have taken off the heat.

Add broken biscuits – I recommend putting them in a ziplock bag before you bash them up – and stir it all together.

Put in a container which has been lined with parchment paper and leave in fridge for approx 12 hours.

Jill

6 thoughts on “i am two!

  1. Thanks for mentioning the They Might Be Giants tip off – knew they did the Mickey Mouse songs but didn’t know about their album – just bought it 🙂

    Like

    1. Mark was only saying last night, we should have got R one of their albums for his birthday. Sure we’re never organised enough to think of that kinda thing in advance! They’re all brilliant, and the cd’s come with dvds with gorgeous animated music videos. Enjoy!

      Like

  2. Using these for a bbq at the weekend 🙂 Never got round to it at the birthday time but blanaid big into baking now so she’ll really love these!

    Like

Leave a Reply

