We’re not well…

Oat & Raisin cookies

We’re not well.  Poor little guy has an ear infection, and I’m flattened by a cold that I can treat with nothing stronger than hot honey & lemon. So friday was a day at home for both of us.  I think I could never be a stay at home mum, it’s so hard when you’re sick!  But I figured we’d have a day of quiet activities, Pixar and hopefully a long nap.  2 outta 3 ain’t bad…

In the morning, I decided to do some simple baking.  I found this Oat & Raisin cookie recipe while browsing Mummypages.ie & it looked a really easy one to share with the young fella.  There’s a shocking amount of tasty looking recipes on there, I’ve bookmarked it for another day.

I'll just have one of these

As his mood wasn’t 100%, and lets be honest, nor was mine, I did a little prep work while he was parked in front of Mr Tumble.  I beat the butter & sugar til it was soft (I probably went about 10g light on the sugar because I was going to let Dom have a treat of these).  I weighed and decanted the raisins, sunflower seeds and add 25g of desiccated coconut (because why the hell not).  I also weighed out the flour, oats, bicarb & salt into another bowl.  The beauty of this recipe is once the butter & sugar are ready, the rest of the ingredients can all go in together – I think its a bit soon to make a toddler gently fold anything…

Bitta vigorous stirring
Nice and even

He popped up onto his chair, enthusiastically pouring each bowl of ingredients in turn. I helped him with the stirring as while they all sat on top he was more interested in retrieving the raisins from the bowl.  They were ready in no time at all, just 13 minutes in my oven.  They do need to rest & cool down a bit as they’re still very soft when they’re cooked, and seem to need to solidify a little in the cooling.

uh-oh. biscuit refusal

After the shortest nap in the world, he woke up like a bear. I offered 2 very special things.  Finding Nemo & a biccie.  He loves that fish.  But ignoring a biscuit!? If he hadn’t gone to the doctor yesterday I’d have whisked him off there and then.

2 thoughts on “We’re not well…

Leave a Reply

