Beans, beans, they’re good for your heart…

Captures dinosaur, returns to cave for his tea.

We’re had quite a few beany meals this this week.  Suffice to say Prince Windypops is reigning supreme over his royal cot since then.  We’d been eating a lot of stodge the previous week, pasta,  coconut milk based curry, creamy risotto.  I’m currently eating a side order of breakfast cereal about 4 times a day if I allow myself and felt we needed some gooooood simple proteiny foods.  So as soon as it was just me & the boy for dinner I lashed together a store-cupboard bean salad.

  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 can chickpeas both well rinsed
  • a couple of handfuls of cherry tomatoes quartered
  • some frozen sweetcorn cooked
  • a red pepper chopped small
  • half a cucumber cut into small cubes
  • some parsley

Then I threw together a dressing – olive oil, crushed garlic, black pepper, honey, lemon juice.  I have no clue how I measure these things, just taste taste taste.

Peas!  Yellow peas!  Green beans!  Red peas! I don’t care what he calls them, he eats them all and loves them.  And I gave us a break from cooking and processed starchy carbs, nommy & comforting as they are.

G’wan. Give a bean a go.

– Jill

 

One thought on “Beans, beans, they’re good for your heart…

Leave a Reply

