Heady hazy days

The forecast keeps saying rain.  And it keeps being warm and mostly dry.  So I’ve had to keep a good stash of cooling snacks to hand for after a hard day’s play.  I’ve frozen Innocent Fruit Tubes  and Petit Filous Frubes.  In our house these are known as “a lick” and “a yogurty lick” respectively, stemming from us asking him “Can I have a lick?” as soon as he started in on one.   I bought ice lolly moulds that turned out to be way too big.  When your 2 year old actually offers you some of his icelollypop you know it’s too big.   So off I popped to Homestore & More and picked up a tray of 6 little rocket shaped ones – much better for toddler paws.

I’ve frozen straight juice, juice & smoothie (both home made and Innocent) and smoothie on its own.

Today I decided I’d rather make up an exotic mixture, because the last smoothie-pop (Mango & Pineapple) just wasn’t nice.

So this is:

  • A handful of summer berries
  • 100ml Innocent Strawberry & Banana smoothie
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 4 tbsp natural yogurt
  • 2 tsp honey

Mix it all up roughly & spoon into the moulds – the neck of these particular ones are tiny, so I had to fill them with a teaspoon.  The only reason I used pre-made smoothie is because we happened to have it.  Another fruit or more of the frozen berries mashed in and some more yogurt would make this just a nice.

Because these moulds are particularly small there’s a lovely portion of  yogurty-smoothie mix to finish yourself.  Yum!

Jill

Leave a Reply

