All hail the humble chickpea

nyom

I had to post about these Crispy Chickpeas ‘toot sweet’ they are such a revelation. In fact I have just removed the second batch in as many days from the oven. We are noted fans of the chickpea here at Properfud Towers, so there’s always a few tins in the cupboard.

One blog I love to read for general parenting stuff, recipes and an overall relevance to any family working on a budget is Wholesome Ireland. The other day she featured this recipe for Crispy Chickpeas. They are a complete no brainer to make, so when I saw it I knew they’d work in our house – last night I threw in a tray of them while cooking a roast vegetable tart, then this evening I put more in with an oven-baked risotto.

Yep, we’ll have a few of them

I snacked on them with a bottle of beer last night, had them in a salad today for my lunch and then shared the remainder with the kids this evening while we waited for dinner. It’s a great way to add a healthy protein kick to something and also to try out different heat tolerances with children. It also tests the pincer grip of the 11 month old pretty well.  Caítríona used harissa spices which I didn’t exactly have. It’s an easy enough blend to concoct though. I added a few shakes of ground cumin, turmeric, garam masala, cayenne & chilli flakes to mine.

Clearly we are big baby led weaning advocates here, but as you can see, these are of a roundy shape that some among you may deem a choking hazard.  Obviously use your own judgement as to whether your baby is ready for these and don’t let them eat them unsupervised.  Any that were slightly larger, I squished slightly between my thumb and forefinger before giving to Theo.

Tomorrow I’m going to mash a few in with Dominic’s tortilla wrap for his playschool snack. If I leave any…

4 thoughts on “All hail the humble chickpea

Leave a Reply

