Netflix. A family obsessed.

IMG_0330

We are mad for Netflix here. Requests are shouted for particular shows and hey presto, they appear! The line has firmly blurred between what’s actually on TV now, in the moment, and what we can just summon up between our Sky and Netflix subscriptions. Though I’m not sure such a line ever even existed for my digital native offspring. Only two channnels in my day, sure they don’t know they’re born, mutter mutter grumble etc.

IMG_0002The boys love Netflix, and I enjoy discovering off-beat shows with them. We’ve got one particular favourite: though little-known outside the US, I saw Yo Gabba Gabba late one night on Channel 4 when I was pregnant first time round. I never caught it again on “regular” telly here then, joy of joys, we load up our Apple TV with Netflix and I find twenty episodes of it on there.

We now sing “Cool, cool, cool tricks!” to accompany new scooter moves, Dominic has begun beat boxing thanks to “Biz’s Beat of the Day” and our Super Martian Robot Girl is as well known a superhero as Spider-Man (also on Netflix) round our house.

Yo Gabba Gabba is like Jools Holland crossed with Rainbow crossed with The Magic Roundabout. Now don’t tell me that doesn’t sound tempting?

IMG_0332.JPGNetflix offers huge advantages over broadcast TV – no commercials, and you can restrict screen time quite easily. For ages I thought that one episode automatically ran into the next until I realised I could set up the kids profile specifically not to do that. So, “just one now, then the TV is off guys ok?” works way better now they’re not tempted by the next episode.

As an 80’s kid myself, I’m also looking forward with nostalgia (is that even possible?) to the release of a new Netflix original production of  Popples. Bumbling fluffy inside out popping creatures! Coming to your screens in 2015. Now, if I could just convince them to reboot Gummi Bears I’d be sorted…

Netflix-disclaimer-500

 

Leave a Reply

