Strong Women on your Tellybox.

I don’t get much in the way of lady conversation round our house.  My only attempts to converse with a female are met with a faint meow by way of response.  The Bechdel Test will not be passed within our four walls, but fear not solo-female-household dwellers!  I found a bunch of things to watch on Netflix that do.

To pass the Bechdel Test, the film or show must have two or more named female characters who talk to each other about something other than a man.

So I have to do my bit for the sisterhood, and counterbalance all the testosterone on the telly with my very own not completely comprehensive Netflix Strong Females list.  Just so the small men of my house know there’s plenty of kickass women out there besides moi.  My husband is well aware of this fact, I wouldn’t have married him if he wasn’t.

Just a note,  in picking out what is and isn’t suitable for kids, I’ve found the website Common Sense Media really handy.  When you’re watching TV the channels are generally themed by age, but on Netflix there can be a bit of a mish mash of content within the Kids section.

So without further ado:

Orange Is The New BlackOITNB

The big daddy, sorry, mommy, of female driven character ensemble pieces, and also, a Netflix Original.  The main character Piper started to annoy me a bit in series two but the back stories of the other women make for an overall more interesting second series.

The BridgeTheBridge

Swedish/Danish original version obviously. This Scandinavian crime drama is amazing, and Sofia Helin’s character Saga Noren is the reason.

The Good WifeTheGoodWife

Alicia and Kalinda are fierce.  End of.  My husband prefers this show to me. Good character development is good character development, regardless of gender.

Frances HaFrancesHa

Frances Ha is like if the tv show Girls had a feature film cousin with an even messier life.

Arrested Development

ArrestedDevelopment

Oh I’m not entirely sure about the conversations in this, and whether it strictly passes the test across the multiples series.  But I love the three generations of women in the Bluth family: Lucille, her daughter Lindsay, and Lindsay’s long suffering daughter Maeby Fünke.

And for the kids (as well as you):

The Hunger GamesHungerGames

J-Law rocking a bow and arrow as well as some top notch style.

BraveBrave

Merida and her mum kicking ass and taking names. Of course, a young lady can be kick ass without resorting to weaponry.

Powerpuff Girlspowerpuff

No weapons, but they can fly. Seriously cool sisters here – I discovered these girls when I was twenty (I worked in a Warner Brothers store). Now I enjoy Blossom, Bubbles and Buttercup  with my four year old boy.  Don’t let their cutesy names fool you. 

Netflix-disclaimer-500

All images courtesy of Netflix.com

7 thoughts on “Strong Women on your Tellybox.

  1. I LOVE The Bridge, one of my favourites in a while. Finding OITNB hard enough to get in to now. I must catch up on The Good Wife again, I used to follow it but got annoyed when she’d go from defending a drink driver to a huge corporate case in an hour, I need to forget about the law stuff when I watch it.

    Like

      1. Nah, in a firm that big the people who do the drink driving cases wouldn;t even know who in the firm did the corporate stuff, let alone how to do it. You can’t be an expert in every field, especially in a big firm. I do like her suits though.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Maeby Funke FTW!

    Our little man is BIG FAN of Brave and Powerpuff girls. And of course the two Frozen sisters, whose name we dare not mention.

    I’m only at the very start of series 2 of OITNB. I’m really enjoying but after reading your post it reminding me of another conversation I had recently about True Detective. I love both series but as someone pointed out to me there are NO women of substance in True Detective. And thinking of OITNB, there is not one male character who you don’t want to slap. Surely there’s a happy medium?

    Like

    1. There are loads of things that annoyed me about True Detective by the end but the lack of any significant non-caricature females was definitely one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

